roasted butternut squorsh (yes, that’s right) soup

In defense of my “squorsh”, I will start by telling you that I really like my grammar and pronunciations to be correct.  Buuuuuuut, there are certain words that I pronounce Grandma Sam style.  I will do a separate blog about my Grandma Sam soon, to explain.  But for right now, let’s get to the FOOD!

As I say with all my recipes:  DON’T FOLLOW THEM!  Haha!  What I mean is please don’t think that if you don’t have something on here that you just can’t make it.  Most of the time, I start with a basic recipe (or not) and just start throwing things in as I go.  Sometimes it’s good and sometimes it’s awesome, and sometimes it’s just “eh”.  This one was awesome.

And because I don’t want you to think in terms of exact scientific measurements, I don’t usually post full recipes in exact measurements.  Your best measurement you have is a taster spoon.  Taste what you cook, as you’re cooking it…then, add to your taste!  Let’s give this a go!

Roasted Butternut Squorsh (Squash) Soup

1 butternut squorsh (squash)

1 can (14.5 oz) chicken broth or homemade broth

1/2 medium sized white onion

3 slices of fresh ginger

1 BULB of garlic

1 tsp dried culinary lavender

1 tsp salt + to taste

1/2 tsp white pepper + to taste

Olive oil (first, cold press)–put money into a really good olive oil to have on-hand

Smoked mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Ready for roasting! I have more ginger in there than I used in the recipe, but I wanted to make sure if I wanted to add more I had extra!

Squorsh (squash):  Slice that squash right down the middle, the long way.  Now, smell it.  To me it smells sweet and fresh..kind of like fresh melon or watermelon.  I LOVE the smell of fresh squash.  Do not spend your precious time struggling to peel it raw.  We’ll do that later.  Now, rub it down with your quality olive oil.  Place it meat side down on a roasting pan…I used a pyrex pan for no other reason than it was the first thing I grabbed.  I kind of wished I would have started this in one of my cast iron pans, but alas, I was half way through and too lazy to change it.

Onion and Ginger:  Rub with olive oil and put in pan.

Garlic:  Cut off top of bulb (do not peel or separate) and drizzle top with quality olive oil and set in pan.

Lavender:  Put your little bud pile in the pan too.

Bake for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

Take a butter knife and just slide the skin off of the squash (my chickens love the skin).  Remove roasted garlic from cloves.  They will have a gentle garlic smell.  Pop one in your mouth and taste it…it is balanced and mild and so good.

Take half of the squash, garlic (I left out four cloves, one I ate and the rest I did something special with that I’ll explain at the end), 1/2 of the chicken broth, ginger, lavender, salt and white pepper and put into food processor…mix until smooth.  Pour into a pan on the stove to heat.  Then take the last half of the squash and the chicken broth and again, mix until smooth.  Oh and make sure you added all those roasted juices and olive oil from your roasting pan into the food processor.  So good.  Once you have it all on the stove heating gently, let’s use a few of those roasted garlic cloves.

Take a flour tortilla and heat it until it’s a little crispy.  I used my small cast iron griddle and did both sides.  Then I took that roasted garlic and spread it all over that warm tortilla.  Fold it over a couple times and serve it as a side to your soup!

When you serve this soup, grate some smoked mozzarella on the top.  That is a MUST!  And have some additional salt and white pepper on the table for taste.  The white pepper is a kind spice with this soup.  I added a little more of both to my bowl.

Roasted Butternut Squorsh Soup with roasted garlic tortilla for dipping!

This soup is best accompanied by at least one or more of these things:

Cozy pajamas and slippers.

Nothing better to do.

College football on tv.

A lap dog.

A blanket.

Chilly weather.

Kid tested and approved!

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under RECIPES

4 responses to “roasted butternut squorsh (yes, that’s right) soup

  1. Thanks, I just filled up a wheel barrow with Butternut Suqorsh from my neighbors garden.

  2. Kari

    Nice! I’ve never thought of using lavender in my winter squorsh soups. I just happen to be making one tonight, AND I have lavender that I harvested from the garden this summer :) Oh, and an addition I like is roasted/toasted pecans (pulsed in processor before adding to soup, a few reserved for sprinkling on top…w/ bacon!). Yum! I’m hungry!

  3. Roasted pecans would have been perfect on this soup! I’ll have to have some available next time!

Leave a Reply

