remember the little apple?

If you’ve been following our little journey, you’ll remember our windy day when we lost our beloved apple tree.  Then we shared how the tree sat there for most of the summer and lo and behold that tree wanted to give us one last apple, and it did!

Our last little apple.

We waited patiently and that little apple went from green to yellow and then one day we saw shades of pink and red!  It was close to being ready to pick!  The hubs and I decided that it should be ready in about a week.  I started thinking of how I could make our one last little apple special and share it with all our readers who have followed its story.  Maybe a personal sized apple pie?  Apple crumble?  Maybe a recipe that I’ve never tried before, but it has to be special…a celebration!

The next week I cleaned the kitchen, got the camera ready and went outside to pick that little apple.  As I got closer and closer, I didn’t see the little apple.  I looked everywhere, no apple.  Did it fall off?  If it did, then when?  Did the chickens eat it?  I looked all around the tree for any sign that the little apple had fallen.  I couldn’t find it.  The branch was bare.  Then I started feeling sad.  I couldn’t give our last little apple that worked so hard to come out of that tree, a proper goodbye.  Our little apple was gone.

I was very upset about it, because that was not how I planned it!  I could never give that little apple the beautiful send off it deserved.  As I stood there at the bare tree, something changed.  What happened was another farm-life lesson.  I smile came over me.  That little apple actually showed me something wonderful…you can have all the plans in the world but sometimes, things just don’t go exactly how you’d like them to.  It’s neither good or bad, it just is.  The little apple is gone and that’s ok.  Initially, I was disappointed that I didn’t get to make it into something beautiful, but…it already was.  It was amazing to see that it grew out of something that most would call dead and gone and it gave us a great story and tons of warm fuzzies!  And since that happened, I look at things that don’t go the way I had planned and just tell myself that this is a “little apple”.  I hope you can think of this story when life gets rerouted and isn’t going the way you planned…

Thank you little apple!

2 Comments

Filed under FARM LIFE

2 responses to “remember the little apple?

  1. Tracy Crossman

    WOW that was enlightening thank-you for sharing your story, you said so well it almost brought tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

